Wednesday, March 14, 2007

Funding Cut to NWR

Underfunding Cripples U.S. National Wildlife Refuge System

Texas has already complexed several of its refuges; these complexes are included as Focus Refuges. Focus Refuges include Laguna Atascosa, Lower Rio Grande Valley, Santa Ana, Aransas, Matagorda Island, Brazoria, San Bernard, Big Boggy, Anahuac, McFaddin, Texas Point, Moody, Attwater Prairie Chicken, and Balcones Canyonlands.

Tier 2 includes Trinity River, Hagerman, Muleshoe, Caddo Lake and Buffalo Lake. Little Sandy and Neches River fall into the Tier 3 group.

Texas will lose 11 percent of the workforce on its 21 national wildlife refuges, which host some one million annual visitors. Under the new plan, wildlife and visitors at seven Texas refuges will have reduced staff or no staff and minimal services.

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails